Skip to Content

Governance and Reports

Standards Australia Limited ("Standards Australia") is incorporated as a public company limited by guarantee. As a registered charity for taxation purposes the company is subject to regulation by the Australian Charities and Not for Profits Commission.

Standards Australia's Constitution
Standards Australia's Membership Rules

Standards Australia Governance Structure

July 2017
Standards Australia Members
74 of Australia's leading industry, government and consumer organisations form the Members of the Standards Australia Council.
Standards Australia Council
The Standards Australia Council is responsible for the general oversight of standardisation in Australia and the governance of Standards Australia.
The Council has the responsibility to elect the Board of Directors and to appoint new Members to the organisation.
Board of Directors
The Board has a number of committees that consider the detail of the major issues that need to be addressed by the Board. Board Committees may make decisions where the appropriate authority has been delegated, or provide recommendations to the Board for final consideration.
Business Transformation Committee

Finance, Risk & Audit Committee

Remuneration & Nominations Committee
Standards Development & Accreditation Committee (SDAC)

Standards Development & Accreditation Committee (SDAC) Charter

​James Tinslay ​Standards Australia Board Member | SDAC Chair
​Megan Motto ​Standards Australia Board Member | Chief Executive Officer, Consult Australia
​John Furbank ​Representative, Consumers Federation of Australia
​Martin Squire ​‎General Manager Trade and International; ‎Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
​Kenneth Bowron ​Director of Energy Safety; and Executive Director Energy Safety Division Department of Commerce
​Kristin Brookfield ​Senior Executive Director, Building, Development & Environment; Housing Industry Association Ltd
​James Thomson ​Senior Adviser, Standards and Regulation; The Australian Industry Group
​Martin Dwyer ​Chief Emergency Engineer,  Property NSW Department of Finance, Services and Innovation
​Graeme Drake ​Principal, GED Advisory