Skip to Content

Winners of the 2017 Standards Awards

The Awards

W.R. Hebblewhite Medal
Outstanding Committee Award
Meritorious Contribution Award – International
Meritorious Contribution Award – National
Emerging Leader Award

The Standards Awards are presented to those who have made significant contributions to standardisation and demonstrated outstanding service in enabling Standards Australia to attain its objectives.

Through their exceptional work in developing Australian and international standards, the award winners have contributed to the net benefit of Australia.

Five awards were presented on 25 May 2017 in Canberra by Standards Australia Chairman Richard Brooks and Chief Executive Officer Dr Bronwyn Evans.

W.R. Hebblewhite Medal

Few people have played a more pivotal role in the pioneering of Standards Australia than William Rayner Hebblewhite. He was Standards Australia’s first and longest-serving chief executive, from 1924 to 1953. For his outstanding contribution to the scientific and industrial development of Australia, William Rayner Hebblewhite received the honour of the Officer of the British Empire in May 1956. The W.R. Hebblewhite medal recognises exceptional and dedicated contributions in standardisation nationally and/or internationally.

Dr Linzi Wilson-Wilde

Dr Linzi Wilson-Wilde is currently the Director of the Australia New Zealand Policing Advisory Agency (ANZPAA) National Institute of Forensic Science (NIFS). She has over twenty years of experience in forensic science. Before joining the ANZPAA Dr Wilson-Wilde held positions with Victoria Police, Australian Federal Police and New South Wales Police. She was a 2014 Inductee into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women and holds a Medal in the Order of Australia for her service in the disaster victim identification process and investigation into the Bali Bombing in 2002 (Operation Alliance).

Dr Wilson-Wilde is the current Chair of the national committee CH-041, Forensic Analysis, and the international committee ISO TC 272, Forensic Sciences. She played an integral role in the development of a standard for minimising the risk of contamination during the collection and analysis of biological material for forensic DNA purposes. This Australian Standard led to the development of ISO TC 272. Under Dr Wilson-Wilde’s leadership, the document was converted into the international standard ISO 18385. She was also key to the development of the AS 5388 series on forensic analysis.

Outstanding Committee Award

The Outstanding Committee Award recognises a Standards Committee who, through team work and commitment, has published standards that have had great impact, often by enhancing the quality of life of communities and industries.

AG-013 – Components used for Gas Appliances and Equipment

Since its reconstitution in 2015, AG-013 has worked effectively to address long-standing challenges within the gas industry. They have efficiently completed a number of projects within this short period and have taken on new projects to keep their standards contemporary and relevant. AG-013 is also increasing Australia’s participation on the international committee ISO/TC 161, Controls and protective devices for gas and/or oil, to ensure the Australian view is heard globally and to facilitate future adoption of international standards.

Ross Jamieson, Chair of AG-013, accepted the award on the committee’s behalf. Under his leadership the committee is a cohesive unit with a clear focus.

The organisations represented on AG-013 are:

  • Association of Accredited Certification Bodies
  • Australian Industry Group
  • Energy Networks Australia
  • Engineers Australia
  • Gas Appliance Manufacturers Association of Australia
  • Gas Association of New Zealand
  • Gas Energy Australia
  • Gas Technical Regulators Committee
  • LPG Association of New Zealand (Inc)
  • Master Plumbers and Mechanical Services Association of Australia (Victorian)
  • National Association of Testing Authorities Australia
  • Standards New Zealand

Meritorious Contribution Award – International

The Meritorious Contribution Award – International recognises exceptional achievements of experts in the area of international standardisation.

Julie Sloan

Julie Sloan is an international expert in strategic Workforce Planning. She is the Founder and CEO of Workforce Planning Global, an author of two books and an acknowledged subject expert for the United Nations. She is a Fellow of the Australian Human Resources Institute and a member of the Global Women on Boards Group.

For the past ten years Julie has been active in standardisation for human resource management. She is Chair of the national committee MB-009 and an active participant on the international committee ISO TC 260. She was the lead writer and convenor of the working group responsible for the Standards Australia Workforce Planning Guidelines (HB299-2008), the inaugural Australian Standard in Workforce Planning (AS 5620:2015), and the convener of the ISO working group responsible for the inaugural ISO Standard on Workforce Planning ISO 30409:2016.

Meritorious Contribution Award – National

The Meritorious Contribution Award – National recognises the exceptional achievements of experts in the development of national standards. Winners of this award are advocates of standards; have demonstrated a knack for problem solving, innovative thinking and have been able to effectively represent the views of their industry or sector.

Kevin Lee

Kevin Lee has an extensive background in the refrigeration and air conditioning industry, specifically in product design, manufacturing and regulatory compliance. He is a former director and chair of the Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Industry Board and a member of the Australian Institute of Refrigeration, Air Conditioning and Heating (AIRAH).

Mr Lee has over twenty years’ experience on Standards Australia committees and ISO international committees, including a role as Chair of the committee ME-006, Refrigeration Safety. Notable achievements include the development of the AS/NZS 1677 series on refrigeration safety and the recent Australian adoption of international standards to supersede this series.

Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award rewards and acknowledges a young professional who has demonstrated great involvement in standardisation, by effectively representing the views of their industry in national or international committees and has willingly undertaken active roles, projects or initiatives in their committees.

Dr Svetlana Bogomolova

Dr Svetlana Bogomolova is an Associate Professor at the University of South Australia. As a Senior Researcher and Lecturer at the Ehrenberg-Bass Institute for Marketing Science, Dr Bogomolova specialises in consumer behaviour in supermarkets. Her research has influenced policy in Australia, the US and UK.

She represents the academic and research community on the international committee ISO PC 294, Guidance on Unit Pricing. Her contributions were instrumental to ensuring the standard had a solid evidence base and the committee had access to the latest knowledge on unit price, retail shopping trends and how consumers use unit pricing information.

To all our Standards Awards winners, thank you for your distinguished service and outstanding contribution to the net benefit of Australia and the international community.

Pictured: Kevin Lee, Ross Jamieson, CEO Dr Bronwyn Evans, Dr Linzi Wilson-Wilde, Julie Sloan and Chairman Richard Brooks.