Please be advised you are about to leave the Standards Australia website to proceed to the AustLII website. Click OK to proceed.

Future planning accessibility

September 24, 2021

The Tokyo 2020 Olympics are an excellent example of how standards contribute to a successful, large-scale event. The Paralympics are no different, and standards that support and guide accessibility are vital.

Tokyo 2020 achieved certification to ISO 20121:2012 which specifies requirements for sustainable event management. All Tokyo 2020 activities were assessed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the British Standards Institution (BSI).

Standards development across accessibility is essential to supporting all elements of the Paralympics. While the international stage is highly visible, there are a wide range of national and international standards which support daily accessibility.

Published this year, AS 1428.1:2021 specifies requirements for new building work to provide access for people living with disabilities.

AS 1428.4.2:2018, Design for access and mobility, Part 4.2: Means to assist the orientation of people with vision impairment - Wayfinding signs, aims to assist in the provision of a built environment that is legible to everyone through tactile signs.

Part five of the AS 1428 series, AS 1428.5:2021, Design for access and mobility-Communication for deaf or hearing-impaired people, was also recently published. The standard provides requirements for the design, application and testing of assistive listening systems, including information to enable access to communication for people who have hearing impairment or who are deaf.

“Standardisation plays a significant role in supporting an inclusive future for all Australians,” said Roland Terry-Lloyd, Head of Standards Development at Standards Australia.

“Nationally and internationally, we are developing standards that enable accessibility in the built environment. We understand the importance of these standards being available. Which is why this year, Standards Australia’s launched the Small Business Set, NCC Primary References Set, containing 122 standards or technical specifications as listed in Schedule 4 of the National Construction Code,” Mr. Terry-Lloyd concluded.

Internationally, standards cover a wide range of accessibility requirements and guidelines, including ISO 11199-1:2021, ISO 11199-2:2021, ISO 21801-1:2020 and ISO 17966:2016.

Jess Dunne
Communications Manager

media enquiries

For media enquires, please contact:

Adam Stingemore
General Manager, Engagement and Communications
+61 2 9237 6086
Chris Larsen
Senior Manager Communications & Design
+ 0431 900 712
Jess Dunne
Communications Manager
+ 61 2 9237 6381