Please be advised you are about to leave the Standards Australia website to proceed to the AustLII website. Click OK to proceed.

Standards Awards

Standards Awards recognise and reward excellence in standardisation. Awards are presented to individuals, accredited SDOs and committees who have made a positive impact on standardisation. From demonstrating outstanding service to helping others achieve their objectives, there are many ways to make your mark.

W.R. Hebblewhite Medal

William Rayner Hebblewhite O.B.E., was Standards Australia’s first and longest serving Chief Executive Officer. This award honours his contribution and foresight in the field. Each year it is awarded to an individual who has made an exceptional and dedicated contribution to standardisation – nationally and/or internationally. Winners are recognised for their leadership, technical expertise and the positive impact their work has made on the industry and community.

Meritorious Contribution Award – National

This award recognises achievements in national standards development. Winners have made a substantial contribution to problem solving, research, innovative thinking and have effectively represented the views of their industry or sector.

Meritorious Contribution Award – International

This award recognises achievements in international standards development. Winners may have leadership roles in international standardisation and have successfully influenced international standards for the benefit of the nation.

Emerging Leader Award

This award acknowledges and rewards emerging leaders. Winners are able to effectively represent their industry or sector in committee debates, play an active role in the committee or champion relevant projects or initiatives.

Innovation Award

This award recognises those who have championed new and better ways of developing standards or innovation in how standards are delivered to end users; where that innovation meets a clear need and benefit to the community and industry. Winners of this award demonstrate the vision to imagine disruptive change and the drive to deliver it.

Outstanding Committee Award

The award recognises standards committees that go the extra mile. Through consistent teamwork and commitment, the standards published by these committees make a change for the good in industry and improve quality of life within communities.

Additional Information

Winners are chosen by a panel including Standards Australia’s executives and standards development senior managers.

Previous winners are eligible for renomination and self-nominations are welcome. All previous winners can be viewed here.

If you have any questions or for more information contact us at